Licensure Requirements

Podiatric physicians are licensed in all 50 states, Guam, and Puerto Rico as well as Canada, Israel, Australia, and many other foreign countries. To obtain licensure, graduates must have completed a residency and must meet the requirements established by each state or national licensing board. Licenses require successful passage of all three parts of the National Boards and may require the passage of an additional state licensing exam. Postdoctoral requirements may vary among states. For additional information regarding licensure, contact the Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards (FPMB) or the American Podiatric Medical Association (APMA).

Midwestern University’s Podiatry program meets the educational requirements for licensure to practice as a podiatric physician in the following states and territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming. In addition, they are licensed in Canada, Israel, Australia and many other foreign countries. Midwestern University Arizona School of Podiatric Medicine has not made a determination that its Doctor of Podiatric Medicine curriculum meets the territorial educational requirements for licensure or certification in the following territory: U.S Virgin Islands.

Each student should check the additional licensure requirements for the state, district or territory in which they intend to pursue employment.

12116 Flag Harbor Drive
Germantown, MD 20874-1979 202/810-3762

9312 Old Georgetown Road B
Bethesda, Maryland 20814-1621 301/581-9200